

Super Bowl

The "Super Bowl" is the final game of the National Football League (NFL) season and determines the champion. The first Super Bowl was held on January 15, 1967. Since then, Super Bowls have been played on Sundays in early to mid-January from 1967 to 1978, late January from 1979 to 2003, and the first Sunday of February from 2004 to 2021. The game has been played on the second Sunday in February since 2022.

Winning teams are awarded the Vince Lombardi Trophy, named for the coach of the Green Bay Packers who won the first two Super Bowls. The players each get a special Super Bowl Ring. Due to the NFL restricting use of its "Super Bowl" trademark, it is often called the "big game" or other generic names. The day the game is played is often called "Super Bowl Sunday" or simply "Super Sunday".

The game was created as part of a 1966 merger agreement between the NFL and the American Football League (AFL) to have their best teams compete for a championship. It was originally called the AFL–NFL World Championship Game until the "Super Bowl" was adopted in 1969's Super Bowl III. The first four Super Bowls from 1967 to 1970 were played before the merger. The NFL and AFL each won two games. After the merger in 1970, the 10 AFL teams and three NFL teams formed the American Football Conference (AFC), while the remaining 13 NFL teams formed the National Football Conference (NFC). All games since 1971's Super Bowl V

have been played between the winners of each conference's championship game, with the NFC leading the AFC 27–25.

A team's name is a combination of the city that hosts them and their mascot. The NFL has 32 teams. They are: Arizona Cardinals, Atlanta Falcons, Baltimore Ravens, Buffalo Bills, Carolina Panthers, Chicago Bears, Cincinnati Bengals, Cleveland Browns, Dallas Cowboys, Detroit Lions, Denver Broncos, Houston Texans, Green Bay Packers, Los Angeles Rams, Indianapolis Colts, Jacksonville Jaguars, Minnesota Vikings, New Orleans Saints, Kansas City Chiefs, Las Vegas Raiders, New York Giants, Philadelphia Eagles, Los Angeles Chargers, Miami Dolphins, San Francisco 49ers, Seattle Seahawks, New England Patriots, New York Jets, Pittsburgh Steelers, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Tennessee Titans and Washington Commanders. Of these teams, 20 (11 NFC, 9 AFC) have won a Super Bowl and 15 (8 AFC, 7 NFC) hold multiple titles. The AFC's Steelers and Patriots have the most Super Bowl titles at six each. The Patriots have been in 11 Super Bowls and that is the most of any team. Among NFC teams,, the Cowboys and 49ers have the most titles with five each. The Cowboys have been in eight games, which is the most of any team. The Patriots and the Broncos of the AFC hold the record for most losses in the Super Bowl, with five each. The Ravens of the AFC and the Buccaneers of the NFC have each won two Super Bowls and are the only teams to be in more than one Superbowl and be undefeated. The NFL has 12 teams who have never won a Super Bowl. The AFC's Browns, Texans, and Jaguars, and the NFC's Lions are the only four teams to have never gotten to play in any Super Bowl.

The Super Bowl is among the world's most viewed sporting events. It has the largest audience of all American broadcasts during the year and the seven most-watched broadcasts in American television history. Commercial airtime during the Super Bowl broadcast is the most expensive of the year because of the high viewership. Companies make their most expensive advertisements for the broadcast and many people who are not even football fans will watch the Super Bowl only for the commercials. The Super Bowl is also the second-largest event for American food consumption, behind Thanksgiving dinner. The NFL began in 1920. Several rival leagues have tried to form but the NFL has successfully fended them off. In 1960, the NFL encountered its most serious competitor when the American Football League (AFL) was formed. The AFL competed with the NFL for players and fans. The original "bowl game" was the Rose Bowl Game in Pasadena, California, which was first played in 1902 as the "Tournament East–West Football Game" as part of the Pasadena Tournament of Roses and moved to the newly-built Rose Bowl Stadium in 1923. The stadium got its name from the fact that the game played there was part of the Tournament of Roses and that it was shaped like a bowl. The Tournament of Roses football game eventually came to be known as the Rose Bowl Game. The Rose Bowl Game became so popular that post-season college football contests were created for Miami (the Orange Bowl), New Orleans (the Sugar Bowl), and El Paso (the Sun Bowl) in 1935, and for Dallas (the Cotton Bowl) in 1937. By the time the first Super Bowl was played, the term "bowl" for any major American football game was well established.

After the American Football League's first season, AFL commissioner Joe Foss sent an invitation to the NFL on January 14, 1961, to schedule a "World Playoff" game between the two leagues' champions. The first World Playoff game would have been the Houston Oilers vs. the Green Bay Packers. It took six more seasons for Foss' idea to become a reality.

In the mid-1960s, Lamar Hunt, owner of the AFL's Kansas City Chiefs, first used the term "Super Bowl" to refer to the AFL–NFL championship game at the merger meetings. Hunt later said the name was likely in his head because his children had been playing with a Super Ball toy. Because of this, there is now a Super Ball toy on display at the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. In a July 25, 1966, letter to NFL commissioner Pete Rozelle, Hunt wrote, "I have kiddingly called it the 'Super Bowl,' which obviously can be improved upon." The leagues' owners chose the name "AFL–NFL Championship Game", but in July 1966 the Kansas City Star quoted Hunt as saying, "the Super Bowl—that's my term for the championship game between the two leagues", and the media immediately began using the term. In 1967 the league said that "not many people like it", and asked for suggestions for a different name. They considered names like "Merger Bowl" and "The Game". The Associated Press reported that "Super Bowl" "grew and grew and grew—until it reached the point that there was Super Week, Super Sunday, Super Teams, Super Players...". "Super Bowl" became the official name beginning with the third annual game.

Since the fifth Super Bowl in January 1971, Roman numerals have been used to identify each game rather than the year in which it is held. The only exception was with "Super Bowl 50", which was played on February 7, 2016. The following year, the name returned to Roman numerals for Super Bowl LI.

After the NFL's Green Bay Packers won the first two Super Bowls, some team owners feared for the future of the merger. At the time, many doubted the competitiveness of AFL teams compared with NFL teams. That changed when the AFL's New York Jets defeated the heavily-favored NFL's Baltimore Colts in Super Bowl III in Miami. One year later, the AFL's Kansas City Chiefs defeated the NFL's Minnesota Vikings 23–7 in Super Bowl IV in New Orleans. This was the final AFL–NFL World Championship Game played before the merger. Beginning with the 1970 season, the NFL realigned into two conferences; the former AFL teams plus three NFL teams (the Baltimore Colts, Pittsburgh Steelers, and Cleveland Browns) would be the American Football Conference (AFC), while the remaining NFL clubs would form the National Football Conference (NFC). The champions of the two conferences would play each other in the Super Bowl.